Worth The Hype? – NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams & FOTD

If you haven’t heard of NYX’s Soft Matte Lip Creams by now then you must have literally been living under a rock for the last year or so. Every single blogger is banging on about them so when I was in Toronto earlier this year I added the shade Amsterdam to my haul to see what all the fuss was about!

On the Boots website, there are 26 different shades of this product to choose from, ranging from light shades such as Sydney, to dark shades like Transylvania! If you haven’t guessed by now, each shade is named after a city which the traveller in me absolutely loves! Each one only costs £5.50 which is an absolute bargain as you get 14g of product in the tube! The tube itself is very simple with a rubberised black top to make it easier to hold on to. The best part though, is the applicator! It is so soft and picks up the perfect amount of product – you can very easily get the perfect amount of product on your lips without having to dip it back into the tube again. It’s also pretty good at getting a sharp line round the edge without a lot of effort. Considering the low price point, this was a real surprise to me!

The formula itself is actually really unusual. The only way I can describe it is it’s kind of like a mousse texture whereby it feels very light and almost whipped when you apply it to the lips. It feels very soft and doesn’t pull or drag at your lips so it applies very smoothly. It takes about 10 minutes for it to fully dry down on the lips but even then, it isn’t uncomfortably matted it isn’t sticky or tacky in the slightest. The formula is very comfortable to wear which is a real plus for me as I find that products that actually look really matte on the lips are so uncomfortable to wear! The lasting power could be a little better but you still get a good couple of hours wear out of them before you have to touch it up. I apply a similar coloured lipliner first to enhance the longevity of it on my lips and this works great.

As I said the only colour I actually have at the moment is Amsterdam which is a bright yellow toned red. It really is very different to other red shades I own and the matte formula makes it really striking. There are quite a few other shades that I’d like to pick up next time I am in town so hopefully in the future you’ll see me talking about other colours but in the meantime I am so happy I picked up this one! The really dark shade, Copenhagen, appeals to my inner dark lips lover so I think I will inevitably pick that one up too.

I decided to tag a quick face of the day onto this post for you to show you how it looks on the lips! Although this was Sunday makeup, I decided to go a bit OTT as I’ve been at work all week and haven’t really had the time to go too crazy with my makeup. I don’t usually go this heavy on a Sunday but I was just really in the mood to look nicely made up!

IMG_1228_Fotor

Base: Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Water; Rimmel Match Perfection Foundation & Concealer; Smashbox #Shapematters palette for under-eye powder, contour, brows and highlight; Rimmel Santa Rose Blush; MAC Fix+

Eyes: NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk; MAC Sable (All over the Lid); Lancôme Glittering Eye Powder in the shade 10 À La Belle Étoile (Limited Edition) (In the inner two thirds); MAC Antiqued & Cranberry (in the outer corner and lower lash line); MAC Carbon (As Liner); Charlotte Tilbury Legendary Lashes Mascara.

Lips: MAC Cherry Lipliner & NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Amsterdam.

Have you tried any of the soft matte lip creams? What shades would you recommend?

Much Love

xoxo

 

24 thoughts on “Worth The Hype? – NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams & FOTD

  1. I just bought a soft matte lipcream last week and I really like it as well! I got the shade Morroco, which is actually a bit similar to this one. It is just a bit more orange I think! I love this one on you!

    Like

  2. This colour looks stunning on you! It looks like the perfect summery shade! I really want to try some of these soft matte lip creams but my nearest boots doesn’t stock NYX yet which is annoying! Great review! X

    Like

      1. I’ve got Stockholm, Copenhagen and Prague! I am sure you will love Copenhagen! Prague is my favourite though, a gorgeous plum-y fuchsia colour!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think it’s a sign I need them! 😉 you should visit them! I’ve been to Copenhagen a few times but the last time I flew to Stockholm straight from there! Pragues super cheap if you want a nice city break!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Definitely is! I so need to! They all look so beautiful! Indeed, I’ve heard that Prague is super cheap, it looks so nice around Christmas time too!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I really want to buy one of these lip creams now! I have a NYX butter gloss which is really nice, but also rubs off quite easily. Sounds like this could be the answer to my problems 🙂 lovely post xxx

    Like

      1. It doesn’t smudge necessarily, but it just doesn’t last too long especially if I eat or drink something. But otherwise it’s so lovely! An amazing consistency and smells delicious too haha x

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Your makeup looks so beautiful, I love the Nyx lip creams! I only have one but need to buy more – I think the shade I own is Athens 🙂 it’s a really lovely peachy nude! They last for ages as well, so good especially for the price! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My experience with the NYX lip creams has been total hit or miss! Prague is one of my favorite colors but Monte Carlo and Abu Dhabi were super streaky and not at all pigmented, so I’m super wary to try any more shades! But if you can get your hands on Prague, definitely do, it’s beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment