The New Setting Spray On The Block?| Rimmel #Insta Fix & Go Spray!

If you’d asked me a year ago whether I used a setting spray, the answer would have been a big fat no. What on earth could spritzing ‘over-priced water’ on top of my makeup do to benefit me really? Well, I was wrong. I now use a setting spray every day and I’m always on the hunt for new ones to try, be it from high end brands or brands available in Boots. With all that being said, it’s safe to say that when Rimmel London came out with their new setting spray, I was very eager to get my hands on it to see if stood up to some of my favourites.

In terms of the packaging first of all, I think it’s okay. It doesn’t wow me and jump off the shelf saying ‘buy me’ nor does it put me off. Yes Rimmel is a more affordable brand so their packaging is a little cheaper so it never bothered me in the slightest. They are by far my favourite drugstore brand so I’d rather buy them for the quality than the packaging. However, the packaging contributes to my biggest gripe about this product, the spritz. The spritzer on this bottle is one of the worst i’ve come across and I actually tweeted Rimmel to see if I had picked up a dud, but sadly they failed to reply. Setting sprays need to be a fine mist, or at the very least a mist of some description. However, this one fires out in one direct stream and hits you straight in the face! Imagine the setting spray equivalent of a hose being used on the ‘jet’ setting.

Needless to say, we kind of fell at the first hurdle as I couldn’t use the product to properly try it out. So, when my last Urban Decay All Nighter bottle finished, I thought i’d put it to good use and empty the Rimmel spray into the bottle so I could at least try it out better! I’ve since been using it with a fully working spritzer in a couple of my Urban Decay bottles and I’ve thankfully been able to test out it’s ability to set makeup rather than simply it’s ability to blind me.

There’s one more issue with this product for me though sadly, again before we even get onto it’s effectiveness, and that’s the scent. I despise anything that smells of cucumber and this is one of the strongest cucumber scents i’ve ever experienced. So much so that I used it the other day and Tom asked from across the room where the cucumber scent was coming from. It is very overpowering and does linger a little on the skin although thankfully not for too long!

Finally, onto the actual product and overall it is a nice setting spray. It sits nicely on top of my makeup without making it go funny, its lightweight and refreshing and seems to do a pretty good job at keeping it in place all day. Naturally, these are all the things I look for in a setting spray and at only £6.99 it is a real bargain too! It’s also meant to be double use so you can use it as a primer too which is a real plus. I’m just so disappointed at the scent and the terrible spritzer. The scent is a preference thing and I know that most people like cucumber scents so I may be outnumbered there, but one key thing to get right with setting sprays is the spritzer. I did do some research and a lot of people rave about it being such a ‘fine mist’ so maybe I DID get a dud.

For me, the scent alone puts me off buying it again, however, had it been a different scent and just the spritzer that was the issue, I would potentially buy it again and decant it as the product inside is pretty good. As I say, I’m a HUGE Rimmel London fan so I was sad that this wasn’t an instant win for me but I guess not everything is going to work for you every time. Have you tried the Insta Fix & Go Spray? If so what did you think of it?

Much Love

xoxo

11 thoughts on “The New Setting Spray On The Block?| Rimmel #Insta Fix & Go Spray!

  1. I’ve tried the Rimmel spray and mine had a fine mist but I would say too fine! I can barely feel it going on my skin and end up spraying loads haha. Personally I prefer the L’Oreal setting spray and want to try the NYX ones.

    Harriet | Shake This Town

    Like

Leave a comment