Review: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Foundation!

Tarte is a brand that I had been lusting over for years, but living in the UK, it’s pretty hard to come by. I know the QVC sell it, but only really in sets rather than individual items, so when I was in the US, I made sure I tried a good few products out in Sephora to see if any of them took my fancy. One that really interested me was the Rainforest of the Sea Foundation, but I didn’t want to jump into anything so took a sample home to see if I liked it.

I guess this is a bit of a spoiler for the rest of the blog post, as it’s clear to see that I did really like it, enough to track down the full size bottle. Now Tarte do ship to the UK, but unlike Colour Pop & Kylie, the tax and duties are clearly visible and more importantly, payable when placing your order. This means you don’t get any of that sneaky £10 Royal Mail ‘Holding Fee’ bumping up the charges. When I went to order, they were having a discount day, basically meaning that the amount of discount I received, covered the tax on the foundation so it was pretty handy!

The first thing to comment on with this foundation really, is the sheer liquidity of it. It’s a very watery consistency and is a lot thinner than any other foundation I’ve ever tried. It is described as a lightweight, full coverage foundation that contains a non-chemical, broad spectrum SPF 15. In my opinion, it is definitely light weight and has very good coverage. I would probably say medium or medium to full rather than simply full coverage, from my own experiences with the foundation. For me that’s good though as I’m really not a huge fan of very full coverage bases.

tarte-foundation-reviewUnlike many foundation formulas, this one is water based, rather than oil based which would definitely explain it’s consistency. The product is actually 20% water which aims to help quench dry skin and give it a boost of hydration for up to 12 hours. Due to it’s consistency, the applicator for this foundation is actually a dropper rather than a pump, which I’m not 100% sure that I’m a fan of. It’s a little bit of a faff, mainly for the second collection of product should you need one, as it can get a bit messy and then you’re desperately trying to get more product with half of it all over your hands. I do think it’s right for this foundation, however I’m not sure whether I like actually using it myself.

From first use of this foundation, I felt like my skin looked absolutely flawless but in no way masked or cakey. It doesn’t cling to dry patches or fade throughout the day; it doesn’t get oily or greasy and it seems to just blur imperfections whilst still looking like skin. Whatever the magic ‘Rainforest of the Sea Complex’ is, it’s clearly pretty damn good! It does come at a bit of a price though as a standard 30ml bottle of this will set you back £30 before shipping & tax. As I mentioned, I think I paid around £30 all in due to the deal so I’d definitely recommend waiting and doing that if you can as they always have some kind of offer floating around.

Do I think it’s worth the money though? For me, definitely! I get such a confidence boost when I wear this foundation as it just gives me the skin i’ve always wanted. My real love is just how light it feels on the skin and the fact that it really does wear well throughout the day. The only thing I wish I’d done is buy a slightly darker shade as i’ve been wearing a shade or two darker in some foundations recently and I’ve found it’s been blending with my body much better. It’s still going to be completely perfect for winter though so I’m dying to get back into using it daily. If you’re interested, the shade I picked up was Fair Neutral and it is a really nice shade when I have zero tan. They have a fantastic 21 shades in the range though, spanning from very light to very dark so I think they’ve done a really good job in making it accessible for all!

Have you tried this foundation? What did you think of it?

Much Love

xoxo

 

One thought on “Review: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Foundation!

Leave a comment